Order for Guest

is empty. Shopping Cart

About the ariZoni Theatre Awards of Excellence
What are the ariZoni Awards?

The ariZoni Theatre Awards is a not-for-profit organization devoted to promoting the visibility and growth of theatre in the Valley of the Sun & Maricopa County. Each year at its annual awards ceremony, the Board bestows an outstanding contribution award and a distinguished service award to deserving individuals or organizations for their contributions to theatre. Most importantly, after completion of an exhaustive judging process, (involving close to 100 Adjudicators) awards of excellence are presented to those individuals who have excelled in performance and production during the just-completed season.

These awards represent true celebrations of EXCELLENCE IN THEATRE.

History (Information provided from the ariZoni Awards Website)
Theatres apply to become part of the adjudication process by selecting one of four theatre divisions: professional touring, contracted, non-contracted (which includes educational), and children's. Theatres must also meet certain production criteria, including having a scheduled season, presenting on a regular basis, having full-length productions, generally having a minimum of four performance on four separate days, and not remounting previously adjudicated shows unless it is a substantially new production.

Contracted theatres must meet two of the following three criteria: operate in association with Actor's Equity Association contract; have at least 50% of actors and designers as salaried employees; and have a minimum annual budget of $150,000. Non-contracted theatres are community, dinner, educational, children's, etc.; the Children's category consists of primarily children performers.

Productions are adjudicated as a play, musical or original work. There are currently 13 categories for adjudication. They include: award of excellence for actress/actor in a major role; actress/actor in a supporting role; directing, musical direction; original script/playwright; choreography; scenic design; costume design; hair and make-up design; lighting design; and sound design. Theatres do the first round of nominations, by indicating which people in a specific production should be considered for each category. Theatres also make two tickets available on a complimentary basis for each adjudicator assigned to the show. Judges are asked to rate each area based on a one to ten scale, with five being “average.”

Finally, using a predetermind scale, the award winners are decided. The ariZoni award recipients' names are kept secret until the night of the gala ceremony, when they are read on stage.

CLICK HERE to see the 2015 - 2016 Hale Theatre ariZoni W inners

To view the  Hale Theatre ariZoni Winners for Previous Years, CLICK below: 

2012 - 2013
2013 - 2014
2014 - 2015